Ards Charity 5-Mile Challenge

TOP PERFORMANCES

- BUT NO RECORDS BROKEN

Last Friday evening the Newtownards and District Charity Committee staged the 28th running of their 5-Mile Challenge Road Race and, although no records were broken, the 71 runners competing all turned in very good performances.

Once again the event was centred in Londonderry Park which housed both the starting and finishing areas.

Clive O'Neill, who undertook the duties of Chief Marshall, thanked Regent Business Equipment from Movilla Street who again sponsored the event, Northern Ireland Athletics, Ards Borough Council, St John Ambulance Brigade and the PSNI from the Newtownards Station. Daphne Coffey and Norah Harvey were Registration Secretaries, Mark Kennedy, Richard Heywood, Julian Hanna, Trevor Dillon, John Jackson, Ernie Trew, Dessie Coffey and Albert Corrin were Road Marshalls and Barry Scarth, Jim White, Billy Harvey and Irene White efficiently tackled the jobs of Finishing-Line Scrutineers.

This year again the proceeds will be directed to Newtownards Lions Club for the Annual Christmas Dinner and Entertainment Afternoon which they organise for local Senior Citizens.

FULL RESULTS -

Men – Record – 24.26 minutes Paul Rowan (2003)

1st Keith Purdy (Belfast) 26.09 minutes

2nd Martin Rea (Belfast) 27.25 minutes

3rd David Wright (Lambeg) 29.33 minutes

4th David Proctor (Belfast) 29.40 minutes

5th Peter Barbour (Newtownards) 30.21 minutes

6th Andrew Acheson (Belfast) 30.52 minutes

7th Paul Cordner (Lisburn) 32.33 minutes

8th Kyle Gibson (Bangor) 32.38 minutes

9th Michael Forrester (Newtownards) 33.20 minutes

10th Michael Cultra (Ardglass) 34.16 minutes

11th Andrew Muir (Holywood) 34.33 minutes

12th David Fowler (Newtownards) 34.40 minutes

13th Ray Leitch (Belfast) 35.04 minutes

14th Andy Evans (Comber) 35.15 minutes

15th Paul Frazer (Newtownards) 3533 minutes

16th Gary Tweedie (Belfast) 35.42 minutes

17th Gary Evans (Newtownards) 35.44 minutes

18th Andy Troughton (Newtownards) 35.56 minutes

19th Ryan Jamison (Newtownards) 36.06 minutes

20th Gary Hunsdale (Newtownards) 36.27 minutes

21st Garth Cranston (Newtownards) 36.28 minutes

22nd James Phillips (Dromore) 37.27 minutes

23rd Jamie Conroy (Comber) 38.13 minutes

24th Ross Hamilton (Newtownards) 39.54 minutes

25th Paul McVeigh (Gulladuff) 40.19 minutes

26th Barry Holland (Carryduff) 40.22 minutes

27th Paul Moore (Newtownards) 41.50 minutes

28th Chris Clingan (Newtownards_) 42.04 minutes

29th K Watters (Newtownards) 42.24 minutes

30th John Maguire (Holywood) 42.36 minutes

31st Richard Fleming (Bangor) 43.01 minutes

32nd Clive O'Neill Jnr (Newtownards) 45.06 minutes

33rd Mark Drennan (Bangor) 48.02 minutes

34th Warren McWhirter (Comber) 50.02 minutes

35th WR Rankin (Newtownards) 50.34 minutes.

Women – Record – 29.55 minutes Shireen Crumpton (2009)

1st Heather Foley (Belfast) 31.52 minutes

2nd Jill Aicken (Bangor) 36.17 minutes

3rd Julie Aelewis (Newtownards) 36.22 minutes

4th Sarah Benton (Bangor) 37.56minutes

5th Nikki Heywood (Bangor) 38.06 minutes

6th Sharon Dickenson (Bangor) 40.31 minutes

7th Helen Ryan (Newtownards) 40.44 minutes

8th Debbie McVeigh (Newtownards) 40.46 minutes

9th Emma McWilliams (Belfast) 41.02 minutes

10th Aedin O'Neill (Belfast) 42.43 minutes

11th Kathy Graham (Bangor) 43.44 minutes

12th Jenni Barkley (Belfast) 44.17 minutes

13th Nichola McElroy (Belfast) 44.47 minutes

```
14<sup>th</sup> Emma Jayne Mawhinney (Holywood) 44.48 minutes
```

16th Kathy Macartney (Newtownards) 47.39 minutes

17th Julie Fisher (Ballywalter) 51.02 minutes

18th Maggie Weir (Newtownards) 61.01 minutes

Men Vets (45 and Over) -

Record – 27.49 minutes Aaron Stronge (2011)

1st Jim Benson (Belfast) 28.48 minutes

2nd Gary Keenan (Belfast) 29.08 minutes

3rd Derek Rantin (Newry) 34.09 minutes

4th Kenneth Hughes (Kircubbin) 35.51 minutes

5th Arthur Crowe (Cloughey) 36.30 minutes

6th James Lemon (Belfast) 36.34 minutes

7th Sam Dunn (Ballycarry) 37.00 minutes

8th David Kelly (Newtownards) 38.00 minutes

9th Ean McClure (Newtownards) 38.45 minutes

10th Alan Keys (Newtownards) 41.13 minutes

11th Paul Morgan (Lurgan) 41.15 minutes

12th Trevor Spencer (Newtownards) 41.52 minutes

13th Phil Duffield (Belfast) 42.18 minutes

14th David Rainey (Dundonald) 50.02 minutes

Women Vets (45 and Over) -

Record – 32.22 minutes Ruth Magill (2009)

1st Heather Kelly (Ballygowan) 37.17 minutes

2nd Janice McCartney (Newtownards) 44.29 minutes

3rd Joy McGrath (Belfast) 51.55 minutes

Boys (16 and Under) -

Record – 28.16 minutes – Ryan Holt (2009)

No Entries

Girls (16 and Under) –

Record -34.09 minutes Jessica Craig (2005)

^{15&}lt;sup>th</sup> Wendy Thompson (Newtownards) 45.34 minutes

1st Sara Smyth (Belfast) 35.46 minutes