Cross CountryNews

Malcolm Cup XC, 26/11/23

The Malcolm Cup was already a long established fixture in the cross country calendar by 1959 when a young D.C. Seaton of Inst ran in the 3 mile youth race. 

In the 64 years since Master Seaton collected a prize at the Malcolm Cup, the circle of athletic life continues; the 1959 race was organised by QUB Harriers in Dundonald while today Annandale Striders now hold the race at the QUB playing fields, and the Seaton athletic genes continue to achieve podium places as David Seaton’s granddaughter, Coco Smith led the junior athletes home with a win in the U13 girls’ 1 mile race in 6:29. Coco led a series of fine performances in the U13 race with Sophie Rankin finishing 2nd in 6:34. Caitlyn Dickenson narrowly missed the podium in 4th (6:43) and Freya Lowry was 6th in 6:49.

[photo: Caitlyn Dickenson, Coco Smith & Freya Lowry]

In the U13 boys’ race Sebastian Mair was 3rd in 5:53 and Isaac Hall was 16th in 6:37.

[photo: Sebastian Mair, Caitlyn, Coco, Freya, Sophie Rankin]

Ethan Constable finished 3rd in the U15 boys’ 2 mile race in 12:03 and Holly Blease won the U17 girls’ race over the same distance in 13:44.

Ladies captain Claire Scott  rounded up a strong team for the women’s race with the NDAC team taking 7th place overall in their 3 mile race. The scoring 4 were Sarah Grant 20:06, Clair Quigley 21:25, Roberta Dornan showing no fatigue from her 10k the day before in 21:26 and Lisa Tomalin in 21:57. 

[photo: NDAC ladies]

[photo: Sarah Grant]

[photo: Fiona McVickar]

[photo: Roberta Dornan]

[Clair Quigley]

[Lisa Tomalin]

[Sarah Connolly]

[Claire Scott & Lindsay Doulton]

[Lindsay Doulton]


In the mens’ masters race David Massey was the first finisher from the club in 19:41 followed by Philip Mulligan 20:32, Terry Eakin 22:29 (and 1st M70,) Les Wilkinson 22:42 and Pat O’Driscoll 34:05 (1st M75.)

[David Massey]

[Philip Mulligan]

[Pat O’Driscoll, Terry Eakin, Les Wilkinson]

North Down had 3 men in the 4 mile Malcolm Cup race. David McKeague was first of the trio to finish in 24:57 ahead of Aaron McAuley 25:55 and Alasdair Mair 26:52.

[Aaron McAuley]

[photo: David McKeague, Aaron McAuley, Alasdair Mair]